The city of Abuja will on April 11 play host to the FIFA Women World Cup Trophy which begins the tour of 24 countries ahead of the 2019 edition of the global soccer showpiece in France.

According to FIFA, legends such as Kristine Lilly and Laura Georges were on hand when the Trophy tour kicked off in Paris where the opening game of the tournament will be played in June.

The trophy will first travel to Jamaica before reaching all 24 participating nations across six continents which is aimed at giving fans the rare opportunity of seeing the coveted trophy up close.

Some of other countries are Chile, Argentina, Brazil, USA, Republic of Korea, Japan, China, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, South Africa, Cameroon and then Nigeria.

The trophy will be in Abuja on April 11 from Yaoundé, Cameroon and will then move to Norway, Germany, Italy, England, Scotland, Holland, Spain, and Canada before ending at the World Cup venue, France in May.

The Super Falcons are one of seven teams that have qualified for every edition of the Female Mundial, are in Group A alongside host nation France, 1995 winners Norway, and Korea Republic.

Leave a Reply