Algeria, Sierra Leone, Guyana and South Korea were elected unchallenged on Tuesday to sit on the UN Security Council in 2024-25, while Slovenia handily beat Belarus for the only contested seat.

The UN Security Council is made up of 15 members, including five permanent members, which comprises the United States, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom and ten countries elected for two years, half renewed each year, and respecting rules geographical distribution.

In the secret ballot vote in the General Assembly, Slovenia – competing with Belarus for the seat going to Eastern Europe – obtained 153 votes, against 38 in Belarus.

The five countries elected on Tuesday will replace Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates from January 1, 2024. They will join the five permanent members of
the Council who have a right of veto as well as the five countries elected last year: Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland.

This is the third time that South Korea and Guyana have served on the Council and the fourth time for Algeria.