The Federal Government through the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission has increased the tariff payable by power consumers across the country.

Documents from the NERC showed that beginning from next year, power consumers will have to pay an additional sum of between eight naira and fourteen naira for every kilowatt-hour of energy provided by their respective distribution companies.

The NERC also said the actual cost reflective tariff for each of the eleven power distribution companies operating in Nigeria.

The Federal Government announced the cost reflective tariff of each of the DISCOS in separate documents for each particular distributor in a regulatory instrument cited as ‘The 2016-2018 Minor Review of Multi-Year Tariff Order 2015 and Minimum Remittance Order for the Year 2019’.

The tariff increase for each DISCO varies, going by figures in the documents from the commission.