Osinbajo Off To US For Nigeria’s Energy Transition Plan

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo leaves Abuja for the United States of America seeking global partnerships and support for Nigeria’s recently launched Energy Transition Plan.

The Vice President’s delegation to the US will include Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Minister of Works and Housing, Raji Babatunde Fashola; Minister of Power, Abubakar Aliyu; Minister of Environment, Mohammed Abdullahi; Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva and the Special Representative of the UN Secretary General/CEO for Sustainable Energy for All, Ms Damilola Ogunbiyi.

Nigeria’s Ambassador to the United States, Uzoma Emenike will also join the delegation.

A presidential spokesman, Laolu Akande, in a statement, said Osinbajo is leading Nigeria’s Energy Transition Implementation Working Group ETWG on the US mission with meetings starting from tomorrow-the 1st of September to promote the plan and secure global support from the US government, the private sector, and other development partners.

He said the ETWG chaired by the vice president comprises relevant ministers and other top government officials.