Immediate past Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, has congratulated Ahmad Lawan and Femi Gbaja-biamila on their election as Senate President and Speaker of the 9th  Senate and  House of Representatives respectively.

Dogara also felicitated with Ovie Omo-Agege and Ahmed Idris Wase for their emergence as Deputy Senate President and Deputy Speaker.

In a statement issued by his spokesman, Turaki Hassan, Dogara described the emergence of the new leaders of the National Assembly as the reflection of the wishes of the majority of Senators and  Honourable Members.

Dogara, who defeated Gbajabiamila in 2015 to become speaker, prayed God for guidance for the newly elected leaders.

The former speaker also restated his continued commitment and support toward the success of the 9th National Assembly through enthronement of democratic ideals and legislative interventions geared towards the development of the Nigerian nation.