The group Head of Sports of Liberty Radio, a Kaduna-based radio station has clinched the award of ‘Football Journalist of the Year’ at the Ballers Award, which took place on Sunday in Lagos.

Mohammed Suleiman, popularly known as Mowiz, was announced as winner ahead of six others, namely: Bolarinwa Olajide (Cool FM, Nigeria Info, WazobiaFM), Fisayo Dairo (ACL Sports), Sam Ahmadu (Savidnews), Tolu Olasoji (Freelance), Austin Okon-Akpan (Channels TV) and Oluwajoba Ogunwale (Soccernet).

The signed writer for Opera News was also voted the ‘Best Sportscaster’ North, South and Eastern Nigeria in the year 2013, at the Nigeria Broadcasters Merit Award and in 2017, he was also nominated for the Future Africa Leaders Award, which is organised by Ebony TV.

A father of one, who has been practicing journalism for thirteen years, is a graduate of Electrical Engineering from Federal Polytechnic, Bida. His one hour, fifteen minutes radio show ‘Sportsride’ is rated as the best sports show in northern Nigeria; it comes up from 7:30am to 8:45am.