Democracy Day: FG Declares June 12 Public Holiday

The Federal Government has declared Friday, June 12, as public holiday to celebrate this year’s Democracy Day.

The Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, who announced this in Abuja on behalf of the Federal Government, commended Nigerians for the entrenchment of democratic rule in the country.

He also hailed the champions of democracy for their determination and sacrifice which finally birthed government of the people by the people, for the people in Nigeria.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Interior Georgina Ehuriah in a statement quoted Aregbesola as calling citizens to continue to appreciate the selfless efforts made to attain democracy.

The Minster also advised Nigerians to cooperate with this administration to realise democratic ideals which the nation’s patriots fought for.