The Independent National Electoral Commission is to hold National Assembly bye-elections in 14 states of the federation covering seven senatorial districts and 24 federal constituencies.

INEC chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, said this in Abuja at the consultative meeting of the Inter-Agency Consultative Committee on Elections Security .

He said that National Assembly elections in the affected areas were disrupted mainly by acts of violence involving ballot box snatching, abduction of INEC officials, over voting and the failure to adhere to regulations and guidelines.

INEC chairman added that the number of registered voters in the polling units involved in each constituency is more than the votes received by the candidate with the highest number of votes.

Yakubu said the list of candidates that emerged winners in the Senatorial and House of Representatives elections will be available on INEC website later.

Leave a Reply