Senator Ahmad Lawan representing Yobe North has been elected by senators as the new President of the Nigerian Senate.

He was overwhelmingly voted with 79 votes thereby defeating Senator Ali Ndume representing Borno South who got 28 votes out of 107 senators present at the inauguration of the 9th Senate.