Ten Nigerian athletes have been declared ineligible to compete at the

2020 Tokyo Olympic Games, the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU) said on


AIU, an independent body created by World Athletics to manage all

integrity issues – both doping and non-doping, noted that eight athletes

from other countries were also declared ineligible while two others were

replaced prior to the submission of their entries to World Athletics.

It explained that the affected athletes, who represented some ‘Category

A’ Federations, were disqualified from the final entries for the Olympics

for failing to meet the minimum testing requirements under Rule 15 of

the Anti-Doping Rules.

This comes in spite of the improvements in the domestic testing

programmes in various countries.

AIU listed the seven identified ‘Category A’ National Federations to

include Nigeria, Belarus, Bahrain, Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, and Ukraine.

Nigeria was list in ‘Category A’ at the start of 2020 after a continued

period of weak domestic testing levels.